Autumn 2022

Book News!
 

New book from local author Laura James

 

News Hounds: The Cow Calamity | Laura James | Publishes 5th January 2023 | 9781526620613 | Paperback £6.99

 

Bunty is the farmer’s dog at Withy Hook Farm, and the weather reporter for the Daily Bark, Puddle's best (and only!) newspaper for dogs. But when Farmer Val is INJURED, it’s up to Bunty to keep the farm running. Suddenly, Bunty’s life isn’t as right as rain – it’s a WHIRLWIND, as she rushes to collect eggs, check on lambs – and deal with a herd of HUGE cows!

Can Bunty and her friends rise to the challenge ... or will it be a COW CALAMITY?

This young fiction series by the author of Captain Pug is perfect for fans of The Secret Life of Pets and Toto the Ninja Cat. Laura James is based in Dorchester.

 

Please do consider picking up a copy for your school/the children in your life! Laura James will be signing books at Waterstones Dorchester on Saturday 7th January 2022 from 11.00am and is also available for school events to speak to students about being an author. Please let me know if you would like to hear more.

 

Emily

An update on our premises
 
During the summer holidays the school has been improving the outdoor environment . This includes renewing the raised beds in the gardening area and creating a new pond area. We still have lots of planting to do but we are all very excited about encouraging the wildlife to the area. The new raised beds have already been put to good use by the Gardening Club who meet weekly as part of an after school club. So far they have hosted three after school 'Piddle Produce' markets which have been extremely popular selling school grown produce including carrots, lettuce, beetroot, tomatoes, apples and herbs. To date the children have raised £60.00 which they will use to buy further seeds and plants for the garden. The parents and families have been very supportive of the Piddle Produce markets which has been very much appreciated.
How might you find time to savour a simple moment with something delicious from God’s creation this week? 
 
Then God said, “Let the land produce vegetation: seed-bearing plants and trees on the land that bear fruit with seed in it, according to their various kinds.” And it was so. The land produced vegetation: plants bearing seed according to their kinds and trees bearing fruit with seed in it according to their kinds. And God saw that it was good. And there was evening, and there was morning—the third day. 
Genesis 1:11-13
Celebrations
 
It is always such a pleasure to share in the achievements of our children here at Piddle Valley CE First School. Today in assembly we all enjoyed congratulating Max on his sporting achievements from the weekend.
Congratulations Max on being awarded 'Players Player' for your team. We are all very proud of you.